#2 Reason I Drink (Tequila Sunset)

May 9, 2009 at 3:35 am (Tequila) (, , , )

My homework.

I’m currently completing three (3) AAS degrees at one time: Administrative Assistant, Office Information Systems, and Administrative Office Management. It sounds more formidable than it actually is; for 30 credits more than my main degree, Office Information Systems, I can get the other two degrees. So why not? The only drawback is I have to take a speech class and a finite mathematics class. Oy. Speaking in public AND polynomials?? Kill me.

I’m not sure where this fantastic drink comes from originally, but it’s a variation on the traditional Tequila Sunrise.

mrbostonbrandyTequila Sunset

        • 1 oz. tequila
        • 1/2 blackberry brandy
        • orange juice
        • Pinch of margarita salt

Fill a collins glass with ice cubes. Pour in tequila. Fill with orange juice. Add blackberry brandy slowly, pouring over the back of a spoon in the center of the glass, and a pinch of margarita salt. Stir lightly and garnish with a cherry or an orange twist.

Salt seems to bring out the best nuances of tequila’s flavor. Rather than salt the rim, just add a pinch to the drink itself. It cuts down on how much salt you take in, and enhances the flavor of your drink.

Leave a comment